Cutting stones

One day this past summer I was visiting my step mom at her house in Bellingham, WA, when I spotted a piece of coral attached to a rock sitting at an angle on her kitchen table. I couldn’t resit offering to cut the bottom to make it sit flush on the counter, but my step mom hesitated, answering that it had been made that way, and that she didn’t want to change it. As an artist saturated in the vehemence of contemporary art that little is pure or sacred I recoiled inside, but on another level I understood her sentiment.

It made me reconsider how I alter stones during the creation of my cold-worked (cut and polished) pieces. It’s impossible to improve on nature, but I can’t help contributing my own take on the rocks, hoping that my sculptures do the original forms some justice. In almost every sculpture employing stone I retain at least one original surface of the stone–perhaps as an homage or an aesthetic decision based on contrasting textures…either way, here are the most recent pieces…

…I’ve been trying to keep myself to making a sculpture a week, but I got so excited about the work that I had to finish a couple extra pieces this week…

This piece has been in the back of my mind for several years. I took a mold of a broken rock, cast a piece of glass to fit the void, glued them together, then cut and ground them into a unified form. There are other glass artists putting glass with stone, but I haven’t seen anyone’s work that includes kiln-cast glass and stone, cold-worked together.

One thought on “Cutting stones

Leave a Reply

