Pop Rocks!

Piece(s) of the week: Pop Rocks!

Once in a while I love to make extremely small, precious pieces. This week I finished a series of hyper-colored pocket sculptures made of glass and stone that I’m calling ‘Pop Rocks’ in honor of the electric colors popular during the decade I was born (80’s), and for those explosive packets of candy we ate as kids. I’m usually fairly serious about the themes I choose for my art, but when I saw these colored rocks I instantly knew what to do with them. You can of course count on the fact that my art school educated brain’s second thought was Warhol and Basquiat, but sometimes fizzy candy is more exciting than million dollar art. Enjoy!

20120914-234827.jpg

One thought on “Pop Rocks!

Leave a Reply

