Sunday Afternoon

I never thought I’d experience the day when I liked a climate of a city better than the one I grew up in. New Orleans has been 90 (plus) degrees all week and I love it (with regular visits to AC studios of course)…Bellingham, WA will forever be my home, part of my blood, but it’s wonderful to see the sun and to run through the warm rain when the thunderstorms strike here.

I made the piece below from a weathered brick I found on a beach, a piece of a granite counter top, and layers of glass with overlapping maps from my hometown of Bellingham, WA, and Graz, a city in Austria that I lived in for a year on an exchange when I was 16. Every layer adds something to our character…even if we forget where we’ve been.

 

One thought on “Sunday Afternoon

  1. I love this piece. Looks best in person though. Oh oh the places you go, but oh yes, where we’ve been also. Enjoy the rest of your Southern summer.

Leave a Reply

